Underoath and cookies?

I am about to share with you one of my deepest, darkest secrets. It’s also a very yummy secret, so  brace yourselves…

I like to bake. That’s not the secret, though. I often like to experiment with recipes, since I’m a health nut. That’s not the secret either. The secret I’m about to reveal is a recipe I created for the best healthy cookies you will ever taste in your life–oatmeal chocolate chip beauties I like to call my Underoathmeal Cookies.

Whoa, whoa, whoa, Jenn! First…cookies that are good for me and taste amazing? At the same time? I don’t believe you…

And second, what’s with the name?

I’m so glad you asked! I’ll start with the name first…

Underoath happens to be one of my favorite bands (at least, before Aaron Gillespie left), and since these cookies are about as intense and yummy and insane as the band is, I simply combined “Underoath” and “oatmeal” (an extremely important ingredient) together. Hence, Underoathmeal Cookies.pigIf you don’t like these cookies because they’re named after Underoath…then go eat something packaged from Savemart.

Now, the healthy part…I hope you’re ready for this. You’re socks, if you’re wearing some, might just explode off of your feet. Or melt your nail polish. Anyway…

These cookies pack only a quarter of the butter and half of the sugar that regular oat/choco chip cookies do. Snap dizzle. Wait, there’s more!

In place of butter, I substituted low-fat plain yogurt, which adds moisture and protein. I used whole wheat pastry flour, lots of oatmeal, and walnuts. The whole wheat flour carries fewer calories than its white cousin, and oatmeal is just wonderful for you anyhow. The nuts add the good fats your body needs, and a wonderful crunch.

But the cookies are chocolate chip, right? And chocolate is not so good…right?

WRONG! Well, partially. First, the chocolate I put in these cookies is 72% dark, which is dark enough to be able to carry a significant amount of those amazing antioxidants! I get the pound-plus bars from Trader Joe’s (don’t you just LOVE that place?). Anyhow, chocolate is just wonderful, so I think you should eat it anyways.

So, I’m sorry if your socks exploded or nail polish melted…these cookies happen to be just that awesome. So awesome…that I’m giving you the recipe–right here!

UNDEROATHMEAL COOKIES
Blend well in large bowl:
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar

Add in and beat well:
2 eggs
3-1/4 tsp. vanilla
3/4 cup low-fat plain yogurt

Mix in well:
1-1/4 tsp. baking soda (add first so soda can react better with yogurt)
1/2 tsp. salt
2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

Stir in: 3 cups of oatmeal
1-1/2 cups chopped dark chocolate
1 cup chopped walnuts

Drop rounded on nonstick cookie sheet, flatten just a leeetle bit (these cookies won’t spread as much as normal ones do), and stick in an oven preheated at 350 degrees, and cook about 11 minutes. Tip: Let the dough sit a little while before baking, to allow the oatmeal to soak up some moisture. Sometimes I let it sit over night, but I’ve had good results either way.

Well there you have it! I hope you enjoy these amazing cookies; this recipe has been kept mostly secret up until now. I suggest eating them with milk, coffee, or to top off a beastly lunch. You may have an even more heightened experience if you listen to Underoath at the same time.

About Jennifer Elle

Writer. Artist. Hardcore music lover, baker, longboarder. This could get interesting. View all posts by Jennifer Elle

3 responses to “Underoath and cookies?

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

