I have few words to describe

This past Thursday, a Jewish woman came to my Freshman Beginnings class to give her Holocaust survival story.

While I, like most American people, have a fair knowledge about the Holocaust and its horrifying details, I found it particularly fascinating to sit in the presence of an actual victim and hear the live words of her experience.

But that day I heard something I never heard before, and I saw a new level of the human capacity for evil.

The Day of Atonement is one of the most sacred days in Jewish culture, a day of fasting and purification. Respectable, religious Jews would practice this day, whether at a concentration camp or not. And on the Day of Atonement, this woman watched Nazis take pork sandwiches and shove them into the mouths of some of the older Jews.

Spiritual rape.

Leave a Comment

