daughter

Artist: As Cities Burn

Album: Hell or High Water

This is the perfect song to hum along to somberly if you happen to be experiencing one of those days where all you want is quiet, less distractions, and time to soberly think over what’s going on in life. It’s one of those soft, melancholy songs you can listen to while staring out of a window at the pouring rain.

It’s a shame what I thought of her
when I saw her that way.
It didn’t change what you thought of her.
She’s been your daughter since she was made.

Since I was made, I’ve been leaving.
I’d say I’d change but I wouldn’t believe it.
It’s ’cause my legs, they don’t forget.
When they find a way out, they’ll always take it.

Oooh we don’t
Oooh we don’t
we don’t know how we got here,
the way is overgrown.
Oooh we don’t
Oooh we don’t
we don’t know how we became this.

She has a name but I don’t have to know
’cause all I’m after is all she has to show.
We cannot save, we can’t even slow
our loss of innocence; every new child has to grow.

Oooh we don’t
Oooh we don’t
we don’t know how we got here,
the way is overgrown.
Oooh we don’t
Oooh we don’t
we don’t know how we became this.

~You can listen to the song on the band’s myspace, here.

Leave a Comment

