As Cities Burn members return with Hawkboy

As Cities Burn fans,  may you lift your hands to the heavens and rejoice.

I was extremely bummed when I found out that my favorite prog rock band As Cities Burn had broken up soon after they released their last album Hell or High Water, and the fact that album is one of the most beautiful things I own in the shape of a circle made it even more depressing.

There were rumors another project had been birthed by frontman Cody Bonnette, called Hellohighwater. Two years ago.

So, life went on for me, and I was checking out tickets for Emery’s We Do What We Want Tour the other day, and I noticed that Hawkboy was listed as the opening band.

Hm. Never heard of Hawkboy.

Not long after that, I saw a little Facebook feed update from As Cities Burn’s band page:

Hey ya’ll! It has been a long time since you have heard from ACB I guess. Here to let you know Cody and Aaron (me) have a new band called Hawkboy. We will be releasing an EP very soon and we will be on tour all summer. Go like our page and keep up!

Um. WHAT?!

Didn’t take me too long to find Hawkboy’s Facebook page and “Like” it. They should’ve had a button that gave me the option to “Love” it.

Photo via Facebook

And, yes, the song they posted, “2 Bit,” is completely raw. If you’re looking to listen to something interesting and different and awesome, I highly recommend you to check it out. And if you were a fan of As Cities Burn…I don’t know why you’re still reading this.

2 thoughts on “As Cities Burn members return with Hawkboy

Leave a Comment

