Hilarious Showbread song misinterpretation

Cover of "No Sir Nihilism Is Not Practica...

Cover of No Sir Nihilism Is Not Practical

This post is about a Showbread song from No Sir, Nihilism is Not Practical. But first, I need to explain some things:

1. I promised you and myself to finish some blogs I started so you could read them (mainly about Emery and cookies).
2. I realized that being away from the Internet for 2 weeks would make this impossible.

Therefore:
1. I’m sorry for lying about posting things that I won’t be able to post for a while.
2. For the short break in those 2 weeks that I do have internet, I’ve written up this blog that is was scheduled to be published today. So, like, I wrote this earlier. Not today. If you don’t understand, it’s a blog thing, and it’s okay. Just…keep reading.

Anyways…

My friend and I were searching up “Showbread” on YouTube, and we found this video of a “misinterpretation” of Showbread’s song “If You Like Me, Check Yes, If You Don’t, I’ll Die” from their first album No Sir, Nihilism is Not Practical.

If you’ve never heard of Showbread, you probably won’t completely understand the humor. For me, “Check Yes” was the one Showbread song I despised (gasp!) because it was so overly-screechy, but the creator of the video used the sonic chaos to rewrite the lyrics according to what his imagination decided Josh Dies and Tae were singing/screaming–basically, it’s a sort of odd twist on song lyric videos, complete with very silly pictures.

Oh, and if you’re wondering whether it’s worth your time watching this, let me just say this: the video’s tabbed on my “Bookmarks Bar” for necessary revisits and I now listen to “Check Yes” so I may gleefully sing completely inaccurate lyrics.

Enjoy. (If the picture of the “Gay” People magazine cover weirds you out, trust me that it bears no real significance.)

Leave a Comment

