Poem: Brutality (after Gertrude Stein and Underoath)

 

This is the state of proving
The state of Would he like it if I told him
Would he like it if this is the way I walked in
If this is the way I walked out.

Surely this is a matter of business
The business of walking in
The business of walking out
Surely this is a dealing with business
If dangerously
Or if not
Or if this is dangerous business.

If this is the business of walking in
Is sterility
Is peroxide
Is paper towels
Is tested Hurt-Free bandages
If this is the way I dealt with business
Would he like if I told him
Would he like it if this is the way I walked in.

If this is the business of walking out
Is asphalt
Is S-curves difficult to nail
Is killer speed wobble
Is bailing when it’s too hot to handle
Is ripped then bloody
If this is the way I dealt with business
If this is dangerously
Would he like it if I told him
Would he like it if this is the way I walked in after walking out
If this is the way I deal with business
If this is dangerously.

Would he say
This is brutality
This is the way of wolves
Or would he say
This is a dealing with brutality
This is the way it appears
This is the sound of wolves
Would he say this if I told him.

Would he say that S-curve is brutality
Or a dealing with brutality
Be honest now
Or would he say it either way
Would he say I am a wolf
Or the sound of a wolf
Be honest now
Or would he like it either way
Walking in after walking out
Having dealt with business in brutality
The business of nailing that S-curve
The business of almost nailing it
Be honest now
Would he like it if I told him
This business is dangerously
Would he like it if I told him
Be honest now.

Leave a Comment