An Engagement with φιλια: Part A

The History of an Engagement with φιλια

Chapter I. Growing Pains

In the beginning, she, then we. German Tiger Girl, my partner in crime, for life. You and I, characteristically feline. Little lions on the mouse hunt, running over fields, chasing away the cafeteria days. Looking for that summer sun. We built our forts in swimming pools, in bedrooms, dream homes drawn on paper. You and I, partners in crime. Our young gold laughter in the sky. How you laughed when I blew flour in my own face. Would this be mονιμωσ, would this be rare. Permanent. When we picked up the phone, how many times we would say goodbye before finally saying goodbye. But then the day I moved, the day I cried, maybe a little part of me died. Growing pains, apart. I grew and bruised my knees over a gym floor and found Vivaldi. You grew and danced with rifles and found your first kiss. I know I seemed to forget the phone; ringing, dialed, only once in a while. But then a call out of the blue. My whiskers twitched and my voice seemed to fail. I could not be there. But still, I tried, I tried for summer, but I was removed. Did I bury our treasure? The world spun so fast for me. Those growing pains. My weakness, believing I grew the stronger. The ringing, the dialed, only once in a while. I drove away to the south to grow even stronger. A year and a half of this before I woke up and remembered to call you. Your voice was golden. My partner in crime, for life. Our final growing pains weaving us back together again. You still remember my birthdays with cupcakes, and you forgive my lack of virtue in my own memory. We ran into the summer again, jumping in the pool, laughing games in the middle of the night. And when I left again, I tried to promise us I would write the letters I’d never sent. I am poor with contact, yet bonded in virtue, and we are alike, we are partners in crime. For life. I am here and you are there and if I can just get this postcard with your name on it and send. May that be enough to extend. May our flame be kept, sculptured, mονιμωσ. So is this rare. Permanent. Partner in crime, for life, my German Tiger Girl.

mονιμωσ–“resolute”

Leave a Comment

