Get-to-know-you questions after finally breaking the ice (a prayer)

Where are you when I am less than
sober
and want to stone myself for my own transgressions.

But, guilty as charged: I’m not perfect. Am I
not
allowed to cast stones on even myself?

And sometimes I wonder whose hands are
bloodstained
the most. Now I have said something terrible.

But you are not normal. Lion’s
teeth
in your eyes. I think that’s why I love you.

And I am a fool. I can hardly tell the difference between
breathing
and drowning. Will you catch me either way?

I question that you’re the sky; I think you are the
sand
and dirt. Besides, that is where I am made every day.

Leave a Comment

